Workin’ Hard to Make a Livin’

Work is a necessary part of life.  The sooner you learn that fact, the sooner you will enjoy yourself more of the time.  Furthermore, work was around before the curse.  When God created Adam and Eve in the garden, that perfect Paradise, they were given work to do.  Adam was to keep (guard) and dress (tend, cultivate) the garden.  Thus, work was around before the curse.  However, labor, the unpleasant factor of work, came into existence after the curse, when God told Adam, “cursed is the ground for thy sake; in sorrow shalt thou eat of it all the days of thy life;  Thorns also and thistles shall it bring forth to thee; and thou shalt eat the herb of the field; In the sweat of thy face shalt thou eat bread, till thou return unto the ground…” (Genesis 3:17b-19a)  So we see that work has been around since God created man, but labor has only been around since man sinned.

I’ve been sitting at my computer for hours now, striving to complete a listing to post on an extremely popular online auction site.  Why must these things be so difficult?  I enjoy working with computers, I like online sales work, and I love writing descriptively.  Why then am I having so much trouble coming up with a good description for this object?!  ARRGGHH!!

I stalk out of my office into the brisk December air, hoping that the sudden chill will cool my ears and provide a jump-start for my brain, as it seems to have taken a temporary leave of absence from the task at hand.  A frosty breeze ruffles my hair and nips at my nose as I take a deep breath of the wintry air, shivering involuntarily as it tingles all the way down into my lungs.  The sudden shock of inhaling a large breath of cold air certainly has the desired effect on my sluggish mind…I’m on full alert now.  Still, I feel rather lackluster in the inspiration department.  Although I thoroughly enjoy descriptive writing, when I’m on the clock, inspiration is the most elusive ….I don’t know.

I picture myself back at my desk, facing head-on the age-old problem of the summary writer, the journalist, and the novelist.  When under pressure, and at the time when it’s most needed, Inspiration disappears like snow before the August sun!  I stare at my keyboard, willing them to magically inspire themselves!…alas, to no avail.  Hunched at my desk, I will my fingers to come alive with that elusive antidote to my current literary stalemate: Inspiration.  I have momentary visions of a utopia where inspiration never lacks, where pencils fly across page after page of newscap, and feverish fingers cause keys to dance as the words flow in a torrent from the mind of the flustered writer, who types like a dervish; lest, in the midst of his vigorous efforts, that capricious Inspiration decided to flee as suddenly as she came.

I descend from my ethereal visions to the hard reality of life with a bump, realizing yet again the gigantic gap between them….oh, how hard it is to deal with reality at times!

I trudge wearily back to my desk, musing again about the evasiveness of Inspiration.  Why, since she knows how much she is needed, can’t she be a little easier to find, to grasp, and to work with?  There’s my keyboard again…still waiting for me…I still have no idea what I’m gonna write for that item description!

Sigh…

One thought on “Workin’ Hard to Make a Livin’

  1. Ah, how well I know that particular feeling. I’ve never understood why Inspiration seemingly goes into hiding when it is most needed. Hmmm … something to ponder. 😉

Leave a Reply

